Peach and Blueberry Galette

IMG_6270I can’t believe it’s already August. I can’t see summer going away slowly. I know still there is time to fall and winter. But, I kind of want to stay back and enjoy  summer more. I want enjoy more summer bounty. I haven’t yet had my fill of tomatoes, corn and berries. Time flies so quickly. My niece who was born in December is already 7 months old, in January we were still planning our summer vacation which we took in May to France and Italy. Although, I don’t want winter to come fast, I do want to be in December so that I can see my niece in person. 

Last month in July, I attended BlogHer15 Conference. It was one fun event. I met so many different type of  bloggers and brands. I had never thought that so many people actually blog. It is so good to put face to their names, some of them I had known virtually. I would really like to thank Blogher. And, the swag that you get from brands is just awesome. If you follow me on instagram you would have already seen some of the fun that I had at Blogher15.

I learnt so much from the conference, so you will see some changes real soon. Did you notice the blog got a new look?

DSC_8509 edited

Alright, let’s talk about the galette recipe. Who doesn’t love peaches and blueberry? Right, I recently came across this cool recipe that I fell in love with after seeing the picture. So, I had to try it. Although, I feel you don’t need a recipe for galette. It’s one of those dessert that you can make it without a recipe.

I had both peach and blueberry at home that I bought from Farmer’s Market; so I decided to make it Blueberry and Peach Galette.
DSC_8485 editedRecipe adapted from Jacques Pepin and foodandwine.com

Ingredients:

Pate Brisee or the base

1 1/2 cup All purpose flour

1 stick cold chunks of butter (original recipe used 1 1/2 stick, but I did not have enough butter and also I was afraid of using so much butter).

1/4 tsp sugar

1/3 cup ice cold water

Filling :

1/4 cup sugar

3 tbsp almond meal or ground almond

3 tbsp potato starch or all purpose flour

1/4 cup Honey + 2 tbsp sugar for fruits

2 to 3 peaches sliced

1 1/2 cup blueberries

apricot or any other fruit preserve to glaze

tbsp of milk to brush the edges

DSC_8487 edited

 DSC_8488 edit

Method:

To make the base, take flour, salt, and the butter in the food processor and pulse it for few seconds, the butter should still be seen.Then add ice cold water and pulse for another few seconds. If you do not have a food processor you can make it with hands also. Just make sure you cut the butter in the flour and add water and roughly get the dough together. You want to be able to see the butter cold and in pieces. Wrap it in a plastic wrap and keep it in the fridge while you prepare the filling.

First, let the fruits macerate with sugar in a bowl.

Then take another bowl, add the flour or potato starch, almond meal, sugar and mix well. Add a pinch of salt as well. I like a little bit of salt in all the layers. Just a little.

DSC_8490 edit

Assemble the galette –  Preheat the oven at 400 F . Take the base out of the fridge, beat it with the rolling pin a couple of times and then roll it into a big round shape. By beating it rolling pin it really softens it a little bit needed for rolling it and also in pies and all it develops gluten. Make sure the it is rolled equally from all sides.

Fill it with the almond mix and spread it evenly. Leave the edges as shown in the picture for folding the galette. Top it with the fruits and reserve the liquid from the fruits for later use. Drizzle the honey all over the fruits.

Then fold the edges, towards the filling. Don’t worry if it cracks a little bit. Just wait for few minutes for the dough to soften up or just try to seal it well. Press it well onto the fruits.

Brush the edges with milk and sprinkle some sugar about 1 tsp or so on the edges.

Keep it in the preheated oven for about 45- 1 hour until the fruit is bubbly and the crusts looks nicely browned.

Remove it from the oven, brush the fruit preserves all over the galette. And, once it cools down serve it with vanilla ice cream or creme fraiche.

Enjoy!

DSC_8497 editedDSC_8501 editedDSC_8499 edited

2 thoughts on “Peach and Blueberry Galette

Leave a comment